The Haddon W. Robinson Biblical Preaching Award


The Haddon W. Robinson Biblical Preaching Award

The Haddon W. Robinson Biblical Preaching Award is an annual preaching scholarship established in honor of Dr. Haddon W. Robinson, one of the leading evangelical homiliticians of the later 20th and early 21st centuries. Robinson’s teaching career in homiletics spanned decades, instructing students at three different seminaries. Dr. Robinson’s classic textbook, Biblical Preaching, helped shape the place and force of evangelical homiletics. Robinson’s legacy for preaching is captured in this significant award.  A informational flyer and pdf format can be downloaded here.

The genre for this year’s contest will be New Testament Parables

Haddon Robinson wrote: ““A parable, like a joke, cone only be retold and, therefore, a preacher’s task is to retell the parable so that a modern audience will experience what the original hearers felt.”

  • This scholarship is open to all members of EHS currently pursuing an undergraduate or master’s degree;
  • Sermons are to be 15-20 minutes in length;
  • Sermons are to focus on the theme and/or Bible text announced for the Haddon W. Robinson Preaching Award;
  • The target listeners are members of a local evangelical church;
  • The sermons are to be videotaped, posted to the student’s YouTube channel, and the YouTube link provided to by the stated deadline;
  • A task force of EHS members will view the submission, evaluate it on the basis of adherence to basic principles of biblical preaching (as discussed in Robinson’s Biblical Preaching) and the EHS confessional statement, and determine first, second and third prize awardees;
  • The Board will notify the students of the decisions at least 90 days prior to the EHS annual conference;
  • Recipients will be recognized at the annual EHS conference; the first place recipient may be an option of presenting the message during the EHS (e.g. one of the periods in which academic papers are presented) and a possible link to the message included on the EHS website;
  • Cash awards:
    1) first place = $500, plus registration fees and meals to attend the EHS conference
    2) second place = $400
    3) third place = $300

The submission deadline is 30 April 2019

Past Winners

2018 – Jonathan Moreno, “God Is Good to His People
2017 – Collin Skipper, “Jesus’ Words to Suffering People” 
2016 – David Giese, “God, Do You Care About Me?”